

American Association of University Women Capital Branch May 7, 2016 Capital Branch Scholarship Luncheon & Meeting

Members Present		
Jane Johnson	Marty McGarry	Diane Koditek
Mary Castro-Wilson	Lin Nary	Mary Moffitt
JoAnn Carpenter	Carolyn Kellogg	Nancy Stiles
Caroline Punches	Shirley Hammon	Mary Piper
Barbara LeBlanc	Linda Sekiguchi	Louise Seidel
Donna Curtis	Peggy Wozniak	Maureen Smith
Linda Ladendorf	Linda Kijanka	Holly Van Valkenburgh
Jennifer Verive	Paula Winne	

President Jane Johnson called the meeting to order at 11:45 AM. The venue for this meeting was the Joanie's Creekside Café on College Parkway in Carson City. This meeting is the Annual scholarship luncheon and installation of officers.

Scholarships: President Jane Johnson introduced the high school scholarship recipients. Fabiola Mata-Garcia is our recipient from Carson High School. Her goal is to become a financial advisor. She will begin her college career at Western Nevada College. Madison deWet is our recipient from Dayton High School. Her goal is to become a medical doctor and major in biochemistry at the University of Nevada, Reno. Both recipients had a parent with them and thanked the group for selecting them for the award.

President Johnson then asked the members present to introduce themselves including college attended and degree attained so the recipients could hear the variety of colleges attended by the group.

After lunch President Johnson gave the group some information about awardees of grants and fellowships for AAUW nationally. For the upcoming year (2016-17) AAUW will give 3.7 million in awards to women seeking a college education. She further indicated we could go online to see who the recipients are and what they plan to study. President Johnson also asked Linda Sekiguchi to update the group about the grant she wrote for AAUW.

President Johnson then thanked board members for their service during her three terms as president.

Installation of New Officers: Shirley Hammon presided over the installation of new officers for 2016-17. The new officers are as follows: President, Caroline Punches; Membership Vice President, Mary Wilson; Program Co-Vice Presidents, Marty McGarry and Judy Welch; Recording Secretary, JoAnn Carpenter; Corresponding Secretary, Barbara LeBlanc; and Treasurer, Phyllis Tirado.

Caroline Punches asked President Johnson to come back up to the podium to thank her for her leadership for the last three years. Ms. Punches presented her with an AAUW pin recognizing her as a branch Past President. Ms. Johnson with remain on the board as past president.

Ms. Punches then drew names of those who had paid membership dues for the new year. Phyllis Tirado, Linda Sekiguchi, and Shirley Hammon had their names drawn and received Starbucks cards.

The meeting adjourned at 1:20 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted, JoAnn Carpenter Secretary